About Us » About Us

About Us

KIPP Central City Primary is a true community school. The majority of our scholars live within a five-mile radius of KCCP. and the families who choose KCCP know that they are joining a deeply rooted part of their community. We now have generations of families that have been making our work meaningful since we opened our doors.

KCCP is a school that deeply values students as our greatest gift and teachers as intellectuals. We are extremely excited about working with you and your child to ensure your child has an exceptional educational experience! We are committed to helping each and every KIPPster discover his/her passion through meaningful opportunities each and every single day.

At KCCP we believe in Revolutionary Love.

School Hours: 7:30 a.m.-3:45 p.m.; 7:30 a.m. -1 p.m. Wednesday

Office Hours: 7:15 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Student Drop-Off/Pick Up: Scholars may be dropped off at the Thalia or Erato Entrance of the school. Please note, children will not be allowed in the building or on campus before 7:30 a.m. For pick up, drive your vehicle around North Robertson to Erato and we will bring your KIPPster to your vehicle. If you prefer to park, you may walk around to the back doors and there will be line you can join in.

Visitor Information: Please use the front entrance of the school on Thalia Street. Visitors may park on the Thalia side of the school or on Magnolia on the opposite side of the street. Please be aware of all bus loading zones on Magnolia Street and S. Robertson.
 

Important Contacts

Please contact the front office at 504-373-6290 to:
  • Report an absence
  • Transportation requests
  • Update parent/guardian contact information
School Leader/Principal: Theresa Schmitt, tschmitt@kippneworleans.org
Assistant Principal, Grades K-1: Cherelyn Poe, cpoe@kippneworleans.org
Assistant Principal Grades 2-3: Sharon Marcus, smarcus@kippneworleans.org
Assistant Principal Grades 4-5: Lindsay Bardes, lbardes@kippneworleans.org

Bullying Point Of Contact: Theresa Schmitt, tschmitt@kippneworleans.org
Dean of Student Support,Freddie Boyer fboyer@kippneworleans.org
Nurse: Latonia Smith, latoniasmith@kippneworleans.org
School Social Worker: Nichell Terrell, nterrell@kippneworleans.org

To volunteer in the classroom, please contact the classroom teacher.