About Us » About Us

About Us

KIPP Central City Primary is a true community school. The majority of our scholars live within a five-mile radius of KCCP and the families who choose KCCP know that they are joining a deeply rooted part of their community. We now have generations of families that have been making our work meaningful since we opened our doors.

KCCP is a school that deeply values students as our greatest gift and teachers as intellectuals. We are extremely excited about working with you and your child to ensure your child has an exceptional educational experience! We are committed to helping each and every KIPPster discover his/her passion through meaningful opportunities each and every single day.

At KCCP we believe in Revolutionary Love.

School Hours: 8:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m.; 8:00 a.m. -1 p.m. Wednesday

Office Hours: 7:45 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Student Drop-Off/Pick Up: Scholars may be dropped off at the S. Roman Entrance of the school. Please note, children will not be allowed in the building or on campus before 7:45 a.m. For pick up, drive your vehicle around Martin Luther King Blvd to S. Roman and we will bring your KIPPster to your vehicle.

Visitor Information: Please use the front entrance of the school on MLK Blvd. Please be aware of all bus loading zones on S. Derbigny and Carpool on S. Roman.  All visitors must provide state identification prior to leaving the front office.
 

Important Contacts:

Please contact the front office at 504-373-6290 to:

  • Report an absence
  • Transportation requests
  • Update parent/guardian contact information

School Leader/Principal: Korbin Johnson kjohnson@kippneworleans.org 

Assistant Principal, Grades PK-K: Cherelyn Poe, cpoe@kippneworleans.org

Dean of 1-2 Grade: Nicole Mercadel, nmercadel@kippneworleans.org 
Dean of Grades 3-4 (STEM): Cassondra Bell cbell@kippneworleans.org

Assistant Principal Grades 3-4 (Humanities): Allison French afrench@kippneworleans.org

School Operations Manager: Seleigh Taylor, staylor@kippneworleans.org

Bullying Point Of Contact: Korbin Johnson kjohnson@kippneworleans.org 
Dean of Student Support, Ashante Collins acollins@kippneworleans.org
Nurse: Latonia Smith, latoniasmith@kippneworleans.org
School Social Worker: Nichell Terrell, nterrell@kippneworleans.org and Allison Brauer abrauer@kippneworleans.org

 

Dean of MTSS: Taylor Jones tjones@kippneworleans.org


To volunteer in the classroom, please contact the classroom teacher.

 

For all school based transportation concerns or records requests, contact: La’Rencia Patterson, lpatterson@kippneworleans.org or call (504)373-6290.